Why Cubed?

Topics: Ask the Developer
Coordinator
Jul 9, 2006 at 5:09 AM
Just as an introduction, I thought I would give some background into the Cubed project.

I have been developing open source software for several years now. In the past, Bamboo Software have released products such as Open4Business - an open source accounting package, as well as the iShare financial range including share tracking and Financial Freedom calculations.

Several years ago I was forced by a major bank to close the iShare financial range after they claimed they had written similar software which used the same name. So I did. This software, and the accompanying Open4Business package, have all been removed (there original source code is still available through SourceForge).

Since then I have been working commercially for several different development houses, and have started using Microsoft(r) SQL Server(tm) Analysis Services(tm). I think this is a great application - and the power behind it being used for data analysis is overwhelming.

However, I think AS can be expanded alot, and not used for traditional financial uses but more security and research functions. Additionally, I think it should be adapted and made easier to use, being moved from a developer's tool to more of an analyst's tool.

Finally, I would like to have AS run easily under Oracle(r), MySQL(r) and SQL Server(tm). Sharing information from all three if neccessary! As well as being able to run under a Linux Server.

Thus - Cubed was born. Cubed aims to provide a simpler interface, more flexibility in platform, as well as expanded use for the power of Analysis. Look out for 2007 1.0, the first beta release, and see what it turns out like!
Aug 28, 2006 at 3:55 PM
Hi,